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Renewable Energy Standard 

On May 22, 2009, Kansas Governor Mark Parkinson 

signed HB 2369 into law.  Part of this bill contained 

the Renewable Energy Standards Act (RES) (KSA 

66-1256-66-1262).  KSA 66-1258, requires 

cooperatively-owned (coops) and investor-owned 

utilities (IOUs) to meet a portion of the average of 

their three previous annual peak demands with 

renewable generation capacity or renewable energy 

credits (RECs).   

Affected utilities are required to have at least 10% of 

their peak demand come from renewable resources 

for calendar years 2011 through 2015, at least 15% 

of their peak demand come from renewable 

resources for calendar years 2016 through 2019, and 

at least 20% of their peak demand come from 

renewable resources for calendar years 2020 

onward. Capacity built in Kansas after January 1, 

2000, is given an extra 10% capacity rating toward 

compliance. RECs may be used to comply with the 

RES in the years 2011, 2016, and 2020, and in any 

other years the Commission allows. 

In response to the RES, the Commission 

promulgated KAR 82-16-1 through 82-16-6.  KAR 

82-16-2 requires each utility to submit a report to the 

Commission detailing compliance with the portfolio 

standards established in KSA 66-1258 and 

containing, among other things, a retail revenue 

requirement calculation pursuant to KAR 82-16-4.
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During the 2012 legislative session, KSA 66-1260 

was amended to require, in part, the Commission to 

provide a report to the legislature each year on the 

statewide retail rate impact related to the RES.   

Because the utilities were already required to report 

retail revenue requirement, the only additional 

information required to calculate a retail rate is the 

volumetric sales data.  On December 13, the 

Commission ordered the utilities
2
 to file an updated 

version of their 2012 RES reports to include this 

data.  While much of the individual revenue 

requirement and related information provided in the 

RES compliance filings is considered confidential, 

Staff can compile the rate impact information and 

provide it on an aggregated statewide basis. 

Rate Impact Calculation 

The rate impact is calculated by summing up the 

revenue requirement
3
 associated with the RES for all 

utilities and then dividing by the sum of their retail 

sales: 

           
           

 

The rate impact of the RES is about 0.16 cents per 

kWh—that is RES energy counts for about 0.16 

cents kWh of the about 9.2 cents per kWh retail 

electricity cost in 2012 across the state.  Thus, 

meeting the RES requires less than 2% of the 

revenue requirement of the utilities while supplying 

more than 10% of the generation capacity in the 

state. 

 

1
 K.A.R. 82-16-4 Retail Revenue Requirement 

(Specifying the methodology for calculating the retail 

revenue requirement attributable to compliance with the 

renewable energy standards requirement). 

 
2
 Kansas City Power and Light Company; Westar Energy, 

Inc. and Kansas Gas & Electric Co., d/b/a Westar Energy; 

Empire District Electric Company; Midwest Energy, Inc.; 

Sunflower Electric Cooperative, Inc.; and Kansas Electric 

Power Cooperative, Inc. where ordered to file an updated 

version of the August 2012 RES report by January 16, 

2013 and to provide retail rate impact calculations as part 

of their annual RES report going forward.  In addition, the 

Kansas City, Kansas Board of Public Utilities was 

requested to do the same. (Docket No. 13-GIME-391-

GIE, Order Nunc Pro Tunc, January 2, 2013). 
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Revenue Requirement = (RB * ROR) + O&M + A&G + 

Depreciation + Taxes. 


