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To:  Governor Sam Brownback
Chairman Apple and members of the Senate Utilities Committee
Chairman Hedke and members of the House Energy and Environment Committee
Chairman Seiwert and members of the House Ultilities and Telecommunications
Committee

Date: March 1, 2014
RE: Annual Statewide Retail Rate Impact Report

The attached report is provided pursuant to the requirements of K.S.A 66-1260 as
amended by Senate Substitute for HB 2526, which was enacted by the 2012 Legislature.

The attached report provides the required data and analyses, including the following
information regarding retail rate impact in Kansas:

e The Renewable Energy Standard rate impact information provided in an
aggregated statewide basis;
The formula for calculating rate impact; and,
The rate impact of the Renewable Energy Standard and analyses.

Feel free to contact me directly with questions at (785) 271-3166 or
k.christiansen@kcc.ks.gov.

Respectfully Submitted,
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Renewable Energy Standard Act

On May 22, 2009, Kansas Governor Mark
Parkinson signed HB 2369 into law. Part of this
bill contained the Renewable Energy Standards
Act (RESA).' KSA 66-1258 requires
cooperatively-owned (coops) and investor-
owned utilities (IOUs) to meet a portion of the
average of their three previous annual peak
demands with renewable generation capacity or
renewable energy credits (RECs).

Affected utilities are required to have at least
10% of their peak demand come from
renewable resources for calendar years 2011
through 2015, at least 15% of their peak demand
come from renewable resources for calendar
years 2016 through 2019, and at least 20% of
their peak demand come from renewable
resources for calendar years 2020 onward.
Capacity built in Kansas after January 1, 2000,
is given an extra 10% capacity rating toward
compliance. RECs may be used to comply with
the RESA in the years 2011, 2016, and 2020,
and in any other years the Commission allows.

In response to the RESA, the Commission
promulgated KAR 82-16-1 through 82-16-6.
KAR 82-16-2 requires each utility to submit a
report to the Commission detailing compliance
with the portfolio standards established in KSA
66-1258 and containing, among other things, a
retail revenue requirement calculation pursuant
to K.A.R. 82-16-4.7 During the 2012 legislative
session, KSA 66-1260 was amended to require,
in part, the Commission to provide a report to
the legislature each year on the statewide retail
rate impact related to the RESA.

' KSA 66-1256 through 66-1262

2 K.A.R. 82-16-4 Retail Revenue Requirement
(Specifying the methodology for calculating the retail
revenue requirement attributable to compliance with the
renewable energy standards requirement).

Rate Impact Calculation

While much of the individual revenue
requirement and related information provided in
the RESA compliance filings is considered
confidential, Staff is able to compile the rate
impact information and provide it on an
aggregated statewide basis. The rate impact is
calculated by summing up the revenue
requirement’ associated with the RESA for all
utilities and then dividing by the sum of their
retail sales:
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The rate impact of renewable resources is about
0.21 cents per kWh. That is, energy from
renewable resources counts for about 0.21 cents
of the about 9.55 cents per kWh retail electricity
cost in 2013 across the state. Thus, renewable
generation requires less than 2.2% of the
revenue requirement of the utilities while
renewable generation supplies about 15% of the
peak demand in the state. *

3 Revenue Requirement = (RB*ROR) + O&M + A&G +
Depreciation + Taxes

* In terms of the RESA, renewable generation is slightly
more than 16% of the State’s three year average peak
demand when the in-state adder is applied.



