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Chair Fagg, Vice Chair Peterson, Ranking Minority Member Francisco, and members of the 

committee, thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony in support of HB 2590 (Bill) on 

behalf of the staff of the Kansas Corporation Commission (Commission).  

This Bill proposes to amend the maximum penalties that the Commission can assess for violations 

of Kansas pipeline safety regulations found in K.S.A. 66-1,151.  The amendment is recommended 

in order to align Kansas maximum penalties with the maximum penalties found in federal pipeline 

safety law. The alignment with federal maximum penalty amounts is required if Kansas wishes to 

maintain enforcement authority over intrastate natural gas pipeline safety. 

The safety requirements for pipelines transporting natural gas are established in federal law 

through the Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act (NGPSA).   The NGPSA allows states to establish 

primacy over intrastate pipeline safety regulations provided the State meets certain conditions 

listed in the Act.  If the State certifies its safety program with the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials 

Safety Administration (PHMSA), which is a branch of the U.S. Department of Transportation, the 

Act precludes PHMSA from enforcing federal safety standards for an intrastate pipeline facility. 

State safety programs that are certified as intrastate programs are informally referred to as 60105 

programs after the section of the Act that lists the conditions for certification. Since 1970, Kansas 

has been certified as a 60105 program and assumed responsibility for inspecting and enforcing 

pipeline safety regulations.  
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One of the various conditions for state certification listed in the NGPSA requires the state to have 

the authority to enforce safety standards through the use of civil penalties that are substantially the 

same as those stipulated by the Act.1 It is important to note the Act does not require the 

enforcement authority (state or federal) to impose civil penalties. Instead, the Act simply sets a 

maximum penalty that can be levied for violations of the Act.  At this time, the NGPSA maximum 

civil penalties are set to a maximum of $200,000 for each violation, with a maximum for any 

related series of violations set at $2,000,000.2 However, maximum penalties established by the 

Act are subject to change when the NGPSA is reauthorized by Congress every four years. The 

history of NGPSA adjustments to the penalty maximum are as follows: 

Pipeline Safety Act 1968: $1,000/$200,000 
Pipeline Safety Act 1988: $10,000/$500,000 
Pipeline Safety Act 1991: $25,000/$500,000 
Pipeline Safety Act 2002: $100,000/$1,000,000 
Pipeline Safety Act 2011: $200,000/$2,000,000 

 
Kansas maximum penalty levels were partially amended by the legislature in 2012, when the upper 

limit for a related series of violations was increased to $1 million, but the maximum level for an 

individual violation remained at the NGPSA 1991 level of $25,000. Until 2023, PHMSA has 

renewed the Kansas pipeline safety program certification with the understanding that the KCC 

approach the legislature about fully meeting the federal condition required by the NGPSA.   

In 2023, PHMSA notified Commission Staff that it was converting the Commission’s certification 

under the NGSPA to a 60106 agreement3 for its underground gas storage inspection program. A 

60106 agreement allows the Commission to continue inspecting intrastate underground gas storage 

facilities for compliance with federal pipeline safety code, but any violations found during the 

inspection will have to be referred to PHMSA for enforcement action. Within the last few months, 

the KCC received another letter from PHMSA stating that it is considering converting the 

remainder of the KCC pipeline safety program to a 60106 status if Kansas did not meet the 

condition regarding civil penalties.  

                                                           
1 USC 60105(b)(7).  
2 USC 60122(a)(1). 
3 See paragraph USC 60106 of the NGPSA.  
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Under a 60106 agreement, The KCC would still be eligible to receive reimbursement from 

PHMSA of up to 80% of its pipeline inspection program costs with only minimal changes to our 

routine inspection program.  However, when enforcement becomes necessary, the loss of Kansas 

enforcement authority could significantly impact the Kansas regulated community.  

It also must be noted that if Kansas is converted to a 60106 agreement, the maximum penalty level 

under PHMSA enforcement is higher than the amounts stated in the NGPSA. Under the Federal 

Civil Penalties Inflation Adjustment Act Improvements Act of 2015, PHMSA is required to 

increase the penalty maximums to account for changes in inflation. Currently, the PHMSA 

maximum penalty – which changes every year – is set at $266,015 for each violation for each day 

the violation continues, with a maximum administrative civil penalty not to exceed $2,660,135 for 

any related series of violations. 

In summary, KCC Staff supports the approval of HB 2590 in order to maintain the 60105 status 

for the pipeline safety program. The proposed amendment does not require the Commission to 

impose civil penalties. Instead, the Act simply sets a maximum penalty that can be levied for 

violations of the Act.  Without approval of HB 2590, the KCC may lose the ability to issue any 

civil penalties or even resolve pipeline safety violations with Kansas operators.  Instead 

enforcement would be transferred to the PHMSA, which has higher maximum penalties than those 

recommended in the proposed amendments.  

This concludes my testimony, and I would be happy to answer any questions you may have. 


