Video Competition
video service providers image

The Video Competition Act was enacted July 1, 2006 and can be found at K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 12-2021 through 12-2026. K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 12-2023 specifically addresses the video service application process and the role of the KCC. Under the Act, cable service providers no longer negotiate franchise agreements with local municipalities, but apply to the KCC for state-issued authority.

These application forms have been developed for use by applicants: the Kansas Video Service Authorization Initial Application and Video Service Authorization Amended, Termination or Transfer Application.

These application forms have been developed for use by applicants: the Kansas Video Service Authorization Initial Application and Video Service Authorization Amended, Termination or Transfer Application.

As required by the Act, the KCC promulgated regulations governing the state-issued video service application process and granting authorization to applying companies. See K.A.R. 82-15-1 Video Service Authorization below.

Video Service Authorization

Article 15. Video Service Authorization

82-15-1. Application for a video service authorization certificate. (a) Each entity seeking to provide cable or video service on or after July 1, 2006 shall file an application with the commission for a video service authorization certificate. Each cable operator providing video service pursuant to a franchise that is in effect on July 1, 2006 shall file an application for a state-issued video service authorization certificate at least 30 days before the expiration of its franchise agreement in order to continue to provide video service.

(1) Each applicant shall use the application for video service authorization available from the commission, which shall include the information specified in the video competition act, 2006 SB 449, § 3(a)(1) through (5) and amendments thereto.

(2) Each applicant shall file the original and seven copies of the application with the commission, addressed to the executive director of the commission at its Topeka office.

(b)(1) Each entity that seeks statewide authorization to offer cable or video service on or after July 1, 2006 shall file an initial application.

(2) Each entity that holds a video service authorization certificate and wants to revise its original application shall file an amended application, except as provided in subsection (e).

(3) Each entity that holds a video service authorization certificate and wants to terminate its authority to provide cable or video service shall file a termination application.

(4) Each entity that holds a video service authorization certificate and wants to transfer its authority to provide cable or video service shall file a transfer application. Each entity to which the authority to provide cable or video service is transferred shall file an initial or amended application.

(c) Each applicant shall submit an electronic copy of the map of the area where the applicant will provide service, which is also known as the applicant's footprint. This map shall be provided on a compact disc and in the format specified in the application for video service authorization.

(d) Each applicant shall submit one or more of the following fees, as applicable:

(1) A filing fee of $1,000 with an initial application; and

(2) a filing fee of $250 with each type of application specified in paragraphs (b)(2) and (4).

(e) Each entity holding a video service authorization certificate shall provide notice of any change in the name of the entity, contact personnel, mailing address, and phone number by sending a notification letter specifying the number of the docket in which the certificate was granted. The notice shall be provided within 14 business days after the effective date of the change.

(f)(1) Each applicant that submits an incomplete application shall be notified that its application is incomplete within 14 calendar days after the date of filing. If the applicant does not provide a complete application within seven calendar days after the date of the notice, the application shall be dismissed without prejudice within 30 days after the date of filing.

(2) A video service authorization certificate shall be issued in the form of a commission order within 30 days after the date of filing a complete application, if the applicant meets all application requirements. (Authorized by 2006 SB 449, § 3; implementing 2006 SB 449, §§ 3 and 6; effective, T-__________________, _________________.)

 

Site Map    |    Accessibility    |    Contact Us