News Release

For more information contact: Linda Berry, (785) 271-3269 or Samir Arif, (785) 271-3188

January 12, 2017

Commissioner Pat Apple Elected Chairman of the Kansas Corporation Commission

Topeka, KS - At today's Kansas Corporation Commission Organizational Meeting, Commissioner Pat Apple was elected to serve as Chairman of the Commission. The nomination was made by current Chair Jay Scott Emler and seconded by Commissioner Shari Feist Albrecht. Commissioner Pat Apple was appointed to the KCC by Governor Brownback on March 24, 2014 and confirmed by the Kansas Senate on April 6, 2014.

Commissioner Apple served in the Kansas Senate from 2005 to 2014, where he provided leadership in many capacities including Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Utilities Committee. He also served on the Assessment and Taxation Committee, Commerce Committee, Confirmation Oversight Committee, Vice-Chair of Kansas Electric Transmission Authority, 911 Coordinating Council, and Chair of Telecommunications Study Committee. Commissioner Apple currently serves as the Kansas representative for the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission.

Commissioner Apple's prior public service includes Miami County Commission 2003-2005 and USD 416, Louisburg Board of Education 1991-2003.

Commissioners are appointed by the Governor and serve staggered four-year terms. State law provides that no more than two of the three commissioners may belong to the same political party. The Commission acts as an independent regulatory agency with authority to render judgments and decisions on regulated utilities.

The KCC regulates the state's electric, natural gas, telecommunications, oil and gas and transportation industries with the responsibility of ensuring safe, adequate, and reliable services at reasonable rates for the citizens of Kansas.


Site Map    |    Accessibility    |    Contact Us    |    Subscribe